Thursday, July 31, 2008

XX Teens Take Over

Having already released their album in the UK, XX Teens will release their debut album Welcome To Goon Island through Mute on September 30, 2008.

The 11-track album - produced by Sheffield’s Ross Orton (MIA, Fat Truckers, Bromheads Jacket) - features the single "Darlin'" which will be available digitally later this year. The NME calls "Darlin'" "A berserk swamp-rock thriller… scary and brilliant, like a ghost that tosses you off as you sleep."

Welcome To Goon Island is born from the great British Art School tradition, the core of the band having met at art school in Southend. Vivid and expansive, the album is political, innovative, and joyous – it rumbles, rolls & swings coming to an end with the swirling psychedelia of "Sun Comes Up" and a moving eulogy from British peace activist Brian Haw.

Check out the bizarre video for Darlin then download it...

Download: Darlin

No comments: