Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Recoil Get Selected

During his 14 years as a member of Depeche Mode, as well as being an accomplished solo musician, Alan Wilder really honed his skills in the studio. With his attention to detail, Wilder pushed the boundaries even within the restrictive climate of commercial pop.

As an antidote to the demands of the Mode, his studio project Recoil was born in the mid-eighties. Two albums were released: Hydrology (1988) and Bloodline (1990) both giving an indication of his expanding horizons. After his departure from Depeche Mode in 1995, Wilder resurrected Recoil full-time and has since released Unsound Methods (1997), Liquid (2000) and subHuman (2007).

Recoil Selected, a brand new selection of classic Recoil tracks, is out now. Alan Wilder, who chose the track listing, explains, "The collection is made up of my personal favorites, remastered and edited together into what I consider a cohesive and total listening experience.” The album features a varied selection of vocalists including Diamanda Gal├ís, Joe Richardson, Douglas McCarthy (Nitzer Ebb), Nicole Blackman, Samantha Coerbell, Toni Halliday (Curve) and Maggie Estep. Recoil Selected is available to download and as a 2CD physical edition.

Download: Prey (Shotgun Remix)

No comments: