Saturday, November 5, 2011

Let's Go To Spacecamp

Jon Wiley (guitar/vox), Steven Mertens (bass), and Chris Egan (drums) met when they toured with Adam Green as his touring band on the 2008 summer tour and Spacecamp was born. Later that year while in Berlin, the guys met Dev Hynes (better known as Lightspeed Champion or Blood Orange) where he asked the band to record nearly all of the music for Hynes' second album, Life is Sweet! Nice to Meet You.

In January of 2009, the then named, Spacecamp and Hynes recorded the album at Brooklyn's Mission Sound with producer Ben Allen. Shortly after that, Spacecamp invited guitarist James Pollis to join the band and complete the lineup. In late 2010 and early 2011, the band started playing shows and writing their first full-length album that is scheduled for release in Fall 2012.

Sounding something like MGMT if they got in a fight with the Futureheads and the Police, the band fuses electronics, power pop, and worldly pop music into a dizzying combination that's a bit off centre but really quite good.  Why they're waiting so long to release their debut is beyond me...but until then enjoy the first sounds from that record...

Download:  MikoD.T.B.

1 comment:

Scrupples said...

All the name dropping in the world isn't going to help this band. It's just not that good.