Monday, August 22, 2011

Climbing the Wiretree

Austin’s Wiretree began as the solo recording project of singer-songwriter Kevin Peroni. After releasing the LP Bouldin in 2007, Peroni recruited Joshua Kaplan on guitar, Rachel Peroni on bass and Daniel Blanchard on drums to solidify the project.

The group released their sophomore effort Luck in 2009, finding it’s way on various year-end best of lists (Blurt, Absolute Powerpop) while being labeled Blurt Magazine’s “Best Kept Secret.” KLRU featured the band on Austin City Limit’s “Satellite Sets” in January 2011. The band is currently supporting their 3rd full length album Make Up.

A departure from their previous efforts, Make Up was recorded in the studio with very few overdubs with the goal of capturing natural raw performances.  They've done just that with music that is powerful and vibrant.

Download: Make Up
Download: The Shore

No comments: