Thursday, May 6, 2010

Behold The Lazer Crystal

Lazer Crystal is a musical node comprised of three humans and various mechanisms. They are from the city of Chicago, Illinois and have thus far released two limited selections on the collectors imprint HBSP-2X. The first Hot Pink BMX single was printed in an edition of 300 copies and spray painted by hand, some with custom textile covers. The following EP1 release was even more unique. Lazer Crystal asked several artists to contribute artwork for another 300 copy limited release. The results were that approximately 50 people contributed designs and every single record ended up with a unique jacket. These were displayed "gallery style" for a special release on Record Store Day.

The members of Lazer Crystal are Nicholas Read (electronics & vocals), Josh Johannpeter (percussion), & Mikale De Graff (vocals & electronics). MCMLXXX is their first full-length and is released by the mighty Thrill Jockey.

Download: Bad Indian
Download: Hot Pink BMX
Download: Love Rhombus

No comments: