Thursday, November 19, 2009

Citified Move On In Your Absence

The latest finds from the Treasure Trove, starts here...

It makes sense that in a year following a reunion by one of the highlights of shoegaze, My Bloody Valentine, and a late-period masterpiece by the former Red House Painter Mark Kozelek (as Sun Kil Moon), that Greensboro, North Carolina’s Citified would return with Absence–a record that splits the difference between the softly driven lyrical work of the latter and the hazy crunch of the former.

Think about Swervedriver’s gift for finding the classic pop and rock structures beneath the murk of shoegaze and you’ve hit exactly upon what Citified have created in their third release. Returning with the same lineup that created 2008’s The Meeting After the Meeting, Chris Jackson (vocals/guitar), DM Franklin Kane (bass), Diego Diaz (guitar) and Eric Ussery (drums) have created their strongest outing yet.

Download: Absence

No comments: